PSA: What’s been up with me, you and the blog?

Posted on Updated on

keep-calm-and-keep-blogging-34-257x300.png

This year was not a great year as far as my blog goes. The last time I posted a blog was in July. I think I allowed the stress of work and striving to do a million things at once get to me. Of course it does hurt that a lot of my free time was either spent boozing or partying or just watching a copious amount of TV and TV shows. Of course in retrospect, TV shows and partying/boozing has been a consistent in my life for a while. What has changed? I guess I am becoming a corporate stooge hellbent on impressing my superiors at work.

Of course the previous paragraph could serve as what has become over the last three years or so my obligatory explanation of why I haven’t blogged in a while. I refuse to quit my blog. Readership is probably low, I would be lying if I said I did not wish more people read the blog but then I would have to write more, no? Of course I have always had an issue with blogging or in life that I can overanalyze to paralysis. A lot of times over the past 6 months, I have started blogging about a topic ostensibly when the iron was hot so to say only to get distracted and forget to get back to it.

Anyway, what has been up with me? Gained some pounds, finished up a graduate degree, now a almost 2 years in my second job since graduation from university and trying to impress but have a life as well and feeling like I am getting old. Dealing with issues concerning getting married. The typical Nigerian youth who has a decent job and is of age and/or is the first and only son/daughter’s dilemma of succumbing to the inevitable pressure to get married and wondering if he/she wants to get married because a) he/she is ready b) he/she has ticked all the other boxes in the Nigerian formula c) he/she has found their soulmate d) he/she thought by their current age they would be married and really want their first kid to be finished with university by the time they are fifty e) insert all the other reasons I forgot.

Oh well if you still read this blog, what has been up with you? *Dusts cobwebs and waits for the inevitable sound of crickets*

5 thoughts on “PSA: What’s been up with me, you and the blog?

    Keji said:
    December 18, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    Hi! *removes cobwebs from face*! It’s nice to read your blog again…Thank God for feeds.

      Sir Farouk responded:
      December 18, 2015 at 6:56 pm

      You’re welcome! Wrote two today actually. Felt specially inspired by a new laptop and a long flight. 🙂

    justvou said:
    December 20, 2015 at 9:05 am

    Yay! You’re back!
    It’s always fun reading your blog.

    Please if again you doubt your readership, be sure to count me as a regular. Like you, work and not so much copious amounts of tv had been in the way. I was on fire during the first quarter of the year. But we will be back on the blogging trail, Won’t we? 😂

      Sir Farouk responded:
      December 24, 2015 at 10:04 pm

      Awww thanks for reading my humble blog. We definitely need to get back to blogging ways.

    AIDEE RIMEH said:
    January 9, 2016 at 9:12 pm

    I had to search for your blog today gee! Been a really long while. But then, life’s happening so fast so I understand.

Speak your mind...

