7 Things About #Bringbackourgirls

Posted on Updated on

Untitled

We all know that you are probably tired as hell of the topic of the kidnapped girls and just wish they will send Jack Bauer in to rescue the girls, torture Shekau, give him a slow painful death (No, when it comes to that animal I don’t know if I can abide by the Geneva convention or whatever the hell Amnesty International prescribes) and destroy the whole boko haram gang but alas real life is way more complicated than that. I grieve for the families of the young girls and with my fellow Nigerians, I sincerely hope that the girls are found alive and I support #bringbackourgirls and hope for an end to the activities of Boko Haram.

Here are my two cents

1. Social Media Activists actually make a difference. This could have been a whole post or would be some day but I am of the honest opinion that if not for the huge stink raised by social media in Nigeria to bring the kidnap of the girls to international attention perhaps the government might have waited for the outrage to die down and go about its business as usual. It also helped that the parents were a bit proactive. I believe people undereastimate the power of social media and how our generation can use it, social media is used for a lot idiocy and tomfoolery as well as setting p and being thirsty (I m guilty of some of these) but it is also a force for good and means that no matter who you are, you are able to do something. I applaud the #bringbackourgirls movement. Of course the social media activism has to go hand in hand with some physical, practical measures.

2. As the girls continue to be missing I cant help but think of the trauma that that they are facing and the abuse they are being exposed to. It is sad or safe to say that few of these girls will ever be the same again.

3. I also thought of the quality of education the girls were probably receiving before they were kidnapped. I am fairly sure that less than half of them would have passed the WAEC. The northeast had some of the poorest educational test results in Nigeria even prior to the boko haram insurgency. A lot of schools don’t have facilities and teachers teach in a mixture of English and local languages making the product of such an education at best a semi-literate. This made me angrier because it became clear to me the number of barriers these girls face to making it.

4. It is not easy being a woman in Nigeria, it is not easy being a woman in northern Nigeria where for the most part you are expected to be hardly seen and even more hardly heard. A lot of people in the region are skeptical about educating their daughters and if we face the truth probably about half of the girls kidnapped would have been married off after secondary school. Many of those who will marry after secondary school will e become house wives and perhaps a few will have the rest of their education funded by their husbands. Of course lets not forget that the state of security has also made education in the northeast quite unattractive going by the recent spate of attacks on schools and then there is lack of common amenities in many communities of the northeast (think water, electricity in some cases or should I say constant electricity) and of course the bastard child of corruption which is the moral decay of society where cheating is encouraged (some of the girls I said would pass in 3 would probably pay invigilators and engage in other forms of exam malpractice, it is the Nigerian way du jour).

5. I think Asari and co who say there are no girls must be taking the piss. I do not believe they are that dim witted. Rather I even posit that it is possible that more girls have been kidnapped in the past but it has been covered up. I believe there were girls kidnapped.

6. This is sort of a corollary to 1, it took GEJ’s dirty laundry being aired in the international community for my wonderful president to give a damn. I honestly feel bad for the president about his wife. Like many people I laughed at my first lady’s diction and grammar but at the same time I felt a sadness for her and the president. Why? He married a wife who might be hell bent on embarrassing him in public. Lord I know I don’t pray much but please save me from such a wife. I felt sad for her because she is a product of the failure on some level of our educational system and frankly she could be the poster child of it is never too late to go to school and advise her husband that perhaps the education budget should be increased and they should stop sharing blood or money from educational budget as proceeds of corruption.

7. The foreign intervention is welcome in my book as we need all hands on deck in the battle for the soul of our nation. I do not trust these nations mostly because I feel they might be imperialist scum who wont hesitate to use our own incompetency as a nation to institute some form of neocolonialism and economic slavery. However, I am not a conspiracy theorist and Nigerians especially people with public profiles should stop peddling such theories as the masses will gobble it up.

Anyway folks, na only you waka come? What do you think of the foreign intervention? Welcome or not? Perhaps they are the vampires that will share the blood of BH and rescue the girls? What are your thoughts on the kidnapping and the boko haram menace? Do we need to give our first lady double barrel to go into Sambisa? Shall we call TB Joshua to make a quick prediction? Comment o,there is God oo (Disclaimer, HRH Prince Farouk does not find the BH terror funny or the kidnapping funny)

3 thoughts on “7 Things About #Bringbackourgirls

    A. Bonrue said:
    May 20, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    #Endorsed.

    St Naija said:
    May 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Hmm lots to think on.

Speak your mind...

