5 Thoughts About The Death of Madiba

Posted on

Lets give Apartheid and Oppression a knockout

Unless you have been living on Pluto because if you were living on the moon you might have seen his spirit pass by like a comet or caught a radio signal from planet earth announcing the death of Nelson Rohlihlahla Mandela (Fondly called Madiba) at the really ripe age of 95 years old after a life well lived. I haven’t blogged in a while, mostly because of procrastination, also because I have been stuck in my own head and haven’t had enough push to put my thoughts on paper or should I say screen. That being said, the death of this great man warrants me saying a few things.

1. Nelson Mandela spent 27 years in prison! Some of his most productive years too
I don’t know about you, I would have been salty. I would have gone all Mugabe on their asses once I got to power as the 1st black president of South Africa but I guess Mandela was a bigger man than I am. I think South Africa needed a president like him at the time because I am sure the anger in the black community must have built up after years of apartheid.

2. It annoys me that some of the very imperialists, people and institutions that stand for everything Mandela was against would eulogize him and whitewash his image in death.
Like really, the man stood for equality, human rights, the liberation of oppressed people and some neocolonial assholes in all their Pharisee-ic hypocrisy come out on his death to make him seem like the Buddha. It irritates me that imperialists get to oppress people in the past, change the way they oppress people and still turn around and try to dilute the message of our icons because they fear retribution. And the oppressed people of the world sit down and swallow the poppy cock they feed us in their media.

3. It is wonderful that apartheid has ended but are the black or colored peoples of South Africa truly economically liberated? Is there economic equality or did they get the political power and leave the economic power in the hands of the former elite? As I am not South African and do not know what is on ground. I leave those thoughts in the air.

4. As a Nigerian, what I thought as I read the eulogies for Mandela was that our leaders need to be ashamed of themselves. There is no single living Nigerian leader who will die and be mourned for to the degree that Mandela was, even within his or her village (Yes I m exaggerating sue me). If Obasanjo or IBB died today, I don’t think there would be an outpouring of grief and eulogies. Obasanjo had the chance to be a stateman but didn’t, IBB as well. It is telling that our most honored Nigerian leader is Murtala who didn’t last long enough to rubbish his legacy.

5. The Fact that Nelson Mandela aka Madiba came out of Africa fills me with hope that there are men and women in this continent capable of great things if given the chance. I can speak for Nigeria when I say the system does not encourage the emergence of such people who are committed to their cause, the next Nigerian Mandela might be stuck in a dead end civil service job or rearing cattle in the open field with no access to education or he/she just died of malaria or is meeting her sugar daddy in a seedy hotel or engaging in twitfights with some Unilag people.

In the end, Nelson Mandela lived a life full of purpose and even in death continues to inspire people. We should never forget that the man stood for social justice and equality. People hampering on the “peace” aspect of his message are missing the point, sometimes people need to take their liberty by any means necessary (more of a Malcolm X man myself) and the crux of the matter is he stood for equality not only for the oppressed people of South Africa, but for Africa and the rest of the world.

I leave you with the music of Lucky Dube another great South African

RIP Madiba. Dear Readers, what went through your mind as you heard about the death of Nelson Mandela and as the eulogies poured in?

2 Interesting Articles About Mandela:

3 Myths About Mandela Worth Busting

6 Things Mandela Believed that People Wont Talk About

3 thoughts on “5 Thoughts About The Death of Madiba

    worshipandswag said:
    December 8, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    Well spoken! My hope is that Mandela’s death convicts every leader (African leaders if I may add) because it just proves that man is not invincible. We would all die one day but let it be said that we left a positive mark in our generation.

    Akanbi Abiodun said:
    December 9, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    May God rest Madiba soul in perfect peace.

    Akanbi Abiodun said:
    December 9, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Rest in peace Madiba.

Speak your mind...

