Photopower Nigeria: Hope for Gishiri

Posted on Updated on

So I have been missing from the world of blogging for a while. A lot of things have been happening in my “real” life so to say. And no for those who read my previous post, I have not gotten married. Single and chilling.

So what has Alhaji Doctor Engineer Chairman, His Royal Highness and Flyness, Knight to the Damsels in Distress, the consummate gentleman and all round chill guy, Sir Farouk been up to you ask? Well I have been sowing my royal oats and dining with kings and queens! Nah, just kidding. I have been working with a community/volunteer project called Photopower Nigeria. See I wasn’t kidding in my last post when I said wifey gotta like philantrophy. :p

Question is, what is Photopower Nigeria? It is an initiative started by a very good friend of mine and all round lady with substance, Alhaja Yinkus Yinkus. It is a volunteer project seeking to empower youth through photography. Hope for Gishiri is the pilot project of Photopower Nigeria. The project is working with the Hope for Survival Orphanage in Gishiri which is a village in the Maitama Extension of Abuja.

The project has 15 beneficiaries who are within the ages of 15 to 19. These kids if you pardon my use of that word live in the orphanage. The project has on board a group of dedicated volunteers of which this blogger is one, professional photographers and supporters.

The project started with a big launch at the orphanage that gathered all the volunteers, photographers and kids and gave them an opportunity to interact. This launch was followed by almost 2 weeks of intensive sessions in basic photography and photo-journalism accompanied by photowalks and excursions to help stimulate the kid’s creative juices. The kids took several photos and out of these photos some are being selected for an exhibition. The exhibition will be in the form of an auction to raise funds and awareness for the orphanage.

The exhibition is taking place on monday 20th of august by 1pm at the Pyramid Art Gallery Wuse 2 Abuja. It is opposite Dabras Hotel, home of the notorious A-lounge. I hope I get to see some of my readers there.

To learn more about photopower, check out the blog at http://www.photopowernigeria.blogspot.com (did I mention I wrote some of the posts on there), also follow the project on twitter @photopowerng and like the facebook page Photopower Nigeria

4 thoughts on “Photopower Nigeria: Hope for Gishiri

    The Commentator Speaks said:
    August 15, 2012 at 5:44 am

    Sounds like a really great initiative. It’s encouraged me to look and see if there’s anything like that here in England. I’ve always wanted to do things like this, but never get around to it. I feel like it’s time to stop making excuses though and get on with it. There’s people out there who need our care and support.

    African Mami (@afrikanmami12) said:
    August 15, 2012 at 7:09 am

    You are NOT single. Warr is dis?!?!

    On another note, you already know I’m PROUD! Keep up the good work oo!

    obafuntay said:
    August 15, 2012 at 8:47 am

    This is beautiful initiatiative.
    May God continue to bless you and your friend as you bless the lives of those children.

    ObaFuntAy
    TT

    Mika said:
    August 15, 2012 at 11:36 am

    I love what you are doing! Wish I could make it to the exhibition. Enjoy and keep up the great work. I hope to see some of the youth’s photo’s on the blog.

Speak your mind...

